Akool vs HeyGen
What each vendor publishes about price, free plan, watermark, resolution, length and features, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We don't test tools; we compare what vendors publish, and every fact links to its source on the tool's profile.
The differences in short
- Akool has the lower published price: $12/month against $29/month for HeyGen (lowest published rate; may need yearly billing).
- Maximum resolution: Akool 4K, HeyGen 4K.
- HeyGen states text to video; Akool does not say so on the pages we checked.
- HeyGen states image to video; Akool does not say so on the pages we checked.
- HeyGen states custom avatar / digital twin; Akool does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Akool states auto captions / subtitles; HeyGen does not say so on the pages we checked.
- HeyGen states upscaling; Akool does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Akool states video ads / ugc; HeyGen does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | Akool | HeyGen |
|---|---|---|
| Type | AI avatar video | AI avatar video |
| Starts at | $12/mo | $29/mo |
| Billing | Credits | Subscription |
| Free plan | Free plan (Free plan: full-screen watermark, up to 720p, max video length 10 minutes.) | Free plan (3 watermarked videos a month, up to 1 minute each) |
| Watermark | Watermark on free | Watermark on free |
| Max resolution | 4K | 4K |
| Max clip / video length | 30 min | 60 min |
| Commercial use | Not stated (Starter lists "License: personal".) | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Yes |
| Text to video | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Image to video | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| AI avatars | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Custom avatar / digital twin | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Lip sync | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Voice cloning | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Translation / dubbing | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Auto captions / subtitles | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Templates | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Upscaling | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Video ads / UGC | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Checked | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Website | Visit Akool | Visit HeyGen |
Summaries
Akool: Marketing-focused AI video suite with avatars, face swap, video translation and access to third-party video models.
HeyGen: AI avatar and video-translation platform with custom video avatars, Video Agent and 175+ languages.
Keep comparing
Akool alternativesHeyGen alternatives HeyGen vs SynthesiaHeyGen vs HiggsfieldHeyGen vs invideo AIHedra vs HeyGenHeyGen vs RunwayHeyGen vs VEEDCaptions vs HeyGenColossyan vs HeyGenCreatify vs HeyGenHeyGen vs JoggAIHeyGen vs OpenArtHeyGen vs PictoryHeyGen vs Rask AIHeyGen vs SeedanceHeyGen vs TavusHeyGen vs Google Veo Best free AI video generatorsBest AI avatar video generatorsBest AI lip sync toolsBest AI video translators and dubbing toolsBest 4K AI video generatorsBest AI video tools with voice cloningBest AI video generators for long videosBest AI video generators with an APICheapest AI video generatorsBest free AI avatar video generatorsBest free AI lip sync tools All comparisons
Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("akool vs heygen" appears in Google's suggestions; about 10 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.