Midjourney Video vs Sora
What each vendor publishes about price, free plan, watermark, resolution, length and features, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We don't test tools; we compare what vendors publish, and every fact links to its source on the tool's profile.
The differences in short
- Sora has been discontinued: "The Sora web and app experiences were discontinued on April 26, 2026. The Sora API will be discontinued on September 24, 2026." (openai.com/sora). Page kept as a discontinued listing pointing to alternatives.
- Midjourney Video publishes a paid price ($8/month); we could not find one for Sora.
- Maximum resolution: Midjourney Video 720p (HD), Sora not stated.
- Midjourney Video states image to video; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Midjourney Video states extend video; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | Midjourney Video | Sora |
|---|---|---|
| Type | AI video generator | AI video generator |
| Starts at | $10/mo ($8/mo yearly) | Discontinued |
| Billing | Subscription | Not stated |
| Free plan | No (All plans are paid subscriptions.) | Not stated |
| Watermark | Not stated | Not stated |
| Max resolution | 720p (HD) | Not stated |
| Max clip / video length | 5 s | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Image to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Extend video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Checked | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Website | Visit Midjourney Video | Discontinued |
Summaries
Midjourney Video: Midjourney's image-to-video feature: animates an image (one of yours or a Midjourney render) into 5-second clips, on the same subscription as its image generator.
Sora: OpenAI's video and audio generation app and model. OpenAI discontinued the Sora web and app experiences on April 26, 2026, and the Sora API on September 24, 2026.
Keep comparing
Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("midjourney ai vs sora" appears in Google's suggestions; about 10 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.