Captions vs OpusClip
What each vendor publishes about price, free plan, watermark, resolution, length and features, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We don't test tools; we compare what vendors publish, and every fact links to its source on the tool's profile.
The differences in short
- They are different kinds of tool: Captions is listed as ai avatar video, OpusClip as clip & shorts maker.
- OpusClip has the lower published price: $14.50/month against $24.99/month for Captions (lowest published rate; may need yearly billing).
- OpusClip has a free plan; Captions does not state one.
- Maximum resolution: Captions not stated, OpusClip 4K.
- Captions states ai avatars; OpusClip does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Captions states custom avatar / digital twin; OpusClip does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Captions states voice cloning; OpusClip does not say so on the pages we checked.
- OpusClip states auto captions / subtitles; Captions does not say so on the pages we checked.
- OpusClip states upscaling; Captions does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Captions states faceless videos; OpusClip does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | Captions | OpusClip |
|---|---|---|
| Type | AI avatar video | Clip & shorts maker |
| Starts at | $24.99/mo | $15/mo ($14.50/mo yearly) |
| Billing | Subscription | Credits |
| Free plan | Not stated | Free plan |
| Watermark | Not stated | Watermark on free |
| Max resolution | Not stated | 4K |
| Max clip / video length | Not stated | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| AI avatars | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Custom avatar / digital twin | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Voice cloning | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Translation / dubbing | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Auto captions / subtitles | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Long video to clips | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Templates | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Upscaling | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Faceless videos | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Video ads / UGC | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Auto-posting | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Checked | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Website | Visit Captions | Visit OpusClip |
Summaries
Captions: Creator app for AI-edited talking videos, AI actors and digital twins, auto-captions and clip repurposing.
OpusClip: Turns long videos into short vertical clips with AI clip selection, animated captions and auto-posting to Shorts, TikTok and Reels.
Keep comparing
Captions alternativesOpusClip alternatives CapCut vs CaptionsCaptions vs DescriptCaptions vs HeyGenCaptions vs SubmagicCaptions vs VEEDCapCut vs OpusClipDescript vs OpusClipOpusClip vs RiversideOpusClip vs SubmagicOpusClip vs VizardCrayo vs OpusClipKlap vs OpusClipOpusClip vs SsembleOpusClip vs VEED2short.ai vs OpusClipOpusClip vs quso.ai Best AI video translators and dubbing toolsBest AI clip makers for Shorts, Reels and TikTokCheapest AI video generators All comparisons
Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("captions ai vs opus clip" appears in Google's suggestions; about 10 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.