CapCut vs Kapwing
What each vendor publishes about price, free plan, watermark, resolution, length and features, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We don't test tools; we compare what vendors publish, and every fact links to its source on the tool's profile.
The differences in short
- Maximum resolution: CapCut not stated, Kapwing 4K.
- CapCut states image to video; Kapwing does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states ai avatars; Kapwing does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Kapwing states lip sync; CapCut does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Kapwing states voice cloning; CapCut does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states upscaling; Kapwing does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states anime / cartoon styles; Kapwing does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Kapwing states video ads / ugc; CapCut does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states text to speech; Kapwing does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | CapCut | Kapwing |
|---|---|---|
| Type | AI video editor | AI video editor |
| Starts at | Not published | Not published |
| Billing | Subscription | Subscription |
| Free plan | Free plan | Free plan |
| Watermark | Not stated | Watermark on free |
| Max resolution | Not stated | 4K |
| Max clip / video length | Not stated | 120 min |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Text to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Image to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| AI avatars | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Lip sync | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Voice cloning | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Translation / dubbing | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Auto captions / subtitles | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Long video to clips | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Templates | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Upscaling | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Anime / cartoon styles | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Video ads / UGC | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Text to speech | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Checked | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Website | Visit CapCut | Visit Kapwing |
Summaries
CapCut: ByteDance's free-to-start video editor (mobile, desktop, web) with auto-captions, templates, text-to-speech and Seedance-powered AI video generation.
Kapwing: Collaborative online editor with subtitles, dubbing into 40+ languages, Repurpose Studio clips, smart cut and AI video generation.
Keep comparing
CapCut alternativesKapwing alternatives Canva AI Video vs CapCutCapCut vs Wondershare FilmoraCapCut vs Microsoft ClipchampCapCut vs DescriptCapCut vs OpusClipCapCut vs CaptionsCapCut vs VEEDCapCut vs RiversideCapCut vs SubmagicCapCut vs DreaminaCapCut vs FlexClipCapCut vs invideo AICanva AI Video vs KapwingMicrosoft Clipchamp vs KapwingDescript vs KapwingWondershare Filmora vs Kapwing Best free AI video generatorsBest AI video editorsBest text-to-video AI generatorsBest AI video translators and dubbing toolsBest AI clip makers for Shorts, Reels and TikTokBest AI caption and subtitle generatorsBest faceless video generatorsBest free AI video editorsBest free text-to-video AI generators All comparisons
Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("kapwing vs capcut" appears in Google's suggestions; about 20 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.