CapCut vs Submagic
What each vendor publishes about price, free plan, watermark, resolution, length and features, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We don't test tools; we compare what vendors publish, and every fact links to its source on the tool's profile.
The differences in short
- They are different kinds of tool: CapCut is listed as ai video editor, Submagic as clip & shorts maker.
- Submagic publishes a paid price ($19/month); we could not find one for CapCut.
- CapCut has a free plan; Submagic does not state one.
- Maximum resolution: CapCut not stated, Submagic 4K.
- CapCut states text to video; Submagic does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states image to video; Submagic does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states ai avatars; Submagic does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states upscaling; Submagic does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states anime / cartoon styles; Submagic does not say so on the pages we checked.
- CapCut states text to speech; Submagic does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | CapCut | Submagic |
|---|---|---|
| Type | AI video editor | Clip & shorts maker |
| Starts at | Not published | $19/mo |
| Billing | Subscription | Credits |
| Free plan | Free plan | Not stated |
| Watermark | Not stated | None on paid plans |
| Max resolution | Not stated | 4K |
| Max clip / video length | Not stated | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
| Text to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Image to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| AI avatars | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Translation / dubbing | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Auto captions / subtitles | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Long video to clips | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Templates | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Upscaling | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Anime / cartoon styles | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Text to speech | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Checked | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Website | Visit CapCut | Visit Submagic |
Summaries
CapCut: ByteDance's free-to-start video editor (mobile, desktop, web) with auto-captions, templates, text-to-speech and Seedance-powered AI video generation.
Submagic: Short-form video editor for animated captions, hook titles, b-roll and silence removal, aimed at TikTok, Reels and Shorts creators.
Keep comparing
CapCut alternativesSubmagic alternatives Canva AI Video vs CapCutCapCut vs Wondershare FilmoraCapCut vs Microsoft ClipchampCapCut vs DescriptCapCut vs OpusClipCapCut vs CaptionsCapCut vs VEEDCapCut vs KapwingCapCut vs RiversideCapCut vs DreaminaCapCut vs FlexClipCapCut vs invideo AIOpusClip vs SubmagicCaptions vs SubmagicDescript vs Submagic Best AI video editorsBest AI video translators and dubbing toolsBest AI clip makers for Shorts, Reels and TikTokBest AI caption and subtitle generators All comparisons
Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("submagic vs capcut" appears in Google's suggestions; about 20 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.