Luma Dream Machine vs Sora
What each vendor publishes about price, free plan, watermark, resolution, length and features, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We don't test tools; we compare what vendors publish, and every fact links to its source on the tool's profile.
The differences in short
- Sora has been discontinued: "The Sora web and app experiences were discontinued on April 26, 2026. The Sora API will be discontinued on September 24, 2026." (openai.com/sora). Page kept as a discontinued listing pointing to alternatives.
- Luma Dream Machine publishes a paid price ($25/month); we could not find one for Sora.
- Maximum resolution: Luma Dream Machine 4K, Sora not stated.
- Luma Dream Machine states text to video; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states image to video; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states lip sync; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states translation / dubbing; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states auto captions / subtitles; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states templates; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states upscaling; Sora does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | Luma Dream Machine | Sora |
|---|---|---|
| Type | AI video generator | AI video generator |
| Starts at | $30/mo ($25/mo yearly) | Discontinued |
| Billing | Credits | Not stated |
| Free plan | Not stated (Product page says "Try Luma free"; the pricing page lists no free plan.) | Not stated |
| Watermark | Not stated | Not stated |
| Max resolution | 4K | Not stated |
| Max clip / video length | Not stated | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Yes (Listed on Plus and up.) | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Not stated |
| Text to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Image to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Lip sync | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Translation / dubbing | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Auto captions / subtitles | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Templates | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Upscaling | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Video ads / UGC | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Extend video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Checked | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Website | Visit Luma Dream Machine | Discontinued |
Summaries
Luma Dream Machine: Luma's creative platform (Dream Machine / Luma Agents) that runs Luma and third-party image and video models on a shared credit balance.
Sora: OpenAI's video and audio generation app and model. OpenAI discontinued the Sora web and app experiences on April 26, 2026, and the Sora API on September 24, 2026.
Keep comparing
Luma Dream Machine alternativesSora alternatives Luma Dream Machine vs RunwayHiggsfield vs Luma Dream MachineKling AI vs Luma Dream MachineLuma Dream Machine vs Google VeoSora vs Google Veoinvideo AI vs SoraHailuo AI vs SoraHedra vs SoraHunyuanVideo vs SoraKling AI vs SoraLTX Studio vs SoraMidjourney Video vs SoraOpenArt vs SoraPixVerse vs SoraRunway vs SoraSora vs Stable Video Diffusion All comparisons
Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("luma ai vs sora" appears in Google's suggestions; about 10 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.