Luma Dream Machine vs Runway
What each vendor publishes about price, free plan, watermark, resolution, length and features, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We don't test tools; we compare what vendors publish, and every fact links to its source on the tool's profile.
The differences in short
- Runway has the lower published price: $12/month against $25/month for Luma Dream Machine (lowest published rate; may need yearly billing).
- Runway has a free plan; Luma Dream Machine does not state one.
- Maximum resolution: Luma Dream Machine 4K, Runway 4K (upscaling).
- Luma Dream Machine states text to video; Runway does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states image to video; Runway does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states lip sync; Runway does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Runway states voice cloning; Luma Dream Machine does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states translation / dubbing; Runway does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states auto captions / subtitles; Runway does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Luma Dream Machine states templates; Runway does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | Luma Dream Machine | Runway |
|---|---|---|
| Type | AI video generator | AI video generator |
| Starts at | $30/mo ($25/mo yearly) | $15/mo ($12/mo yearly) |
| Billing | Credits | Credits |
| Free plan | Not stated (Product page says "Try Luma free"; the pricing page lists no free plan.) | Free plan (125 one-time credits) |
| Watermark | Not stated | None on paid plans |
| Max resolution | 4K | 4K (upscaling) |
| Max clip / video length | Not stated | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Yes (Listed on Plus and up.) | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Yes |
| Text to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Image to video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Lip sync | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Voice cloning | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Translation / dubbing | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Auto captions / subtitles | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Templates | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Upscaling | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Video ads / UGC | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Extend video | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Checked | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Website | Visit Luma Dream Machine | Visit Runway |
Summaries
Luma Dream Machine: Luma's creative platform (Dream Machine / Luma Agents) that runs Luma and third-party image and video models on a shared credit balance.
Runway: AI video and image generation studio with its own Gen-4 and Gen-4.5 models plus third-party models, credit-based plans and 4K upscaling.
Keep comparing
Luma Dream Machine alternativesRunway alternatives Higgsfield vs Luma Dream MachineKling AI vs Luma Dream MachineLuma Dream Machine vs SoraLuma Dream Machine vs Google VeoHiggsfield vs RunwayKling AI vs RunwayMidjourney Video vs RunwayRunway vs SeedanceHeyGen vs RunwayOpenArt vs RunwayDreamina vs RunwayHailuo AI vs RunwayHedra vs Runwayinvideo AI vs RunwayKaiber vs RunwayKrea vs Runway Best AI video upscalers and enhancersBest 4K AI video generatorsBest AI video generators with an APICheapest AI video generators All comparisons
Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("luma ai vs runway" appears in Google's suggestions; about 20 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.