Best AI Video GeneratorsBest AI Video Generators Correct a listing

Runway vs Sora

What each vendor publishes about price, free plan, watermark, resolution, length and features, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We don't test tools; we compare what vendors publish, and every fact links to its source on the tool's profile.

Visit Runway

The differences in short

Side by side

FactRunwaySora
TypeAI video generatorAI video generator
Starts at$15/mo ($12/mo yearly)Discontinued
BillingCreditsNot stated
Free planFree plan (125 one-time credits)Not stated
WatermarkNone on paid plansNot stated
Max resolution4K (upscaling)Not stated
Max clip / video lengthNot statedNot stated
Commercial useNot statedNot stated
APIYesNot stated
Voice cloningYes (vendor states it)Not stated
UpscalingYes (vendor states it)Not stated
CheckedOct 26, 2026Oct 26, 2026
WebsiteVisit RunwayDiscontinued

Summaries

Runway: AI video and image generation studio with its own Gen-4 and Gen-4.5 models plus third-party models, credit-based plans and 4K upscaling.

Sora: OpenAI's video and audio generation app and model. OpenAI discontinued the Sora web and app experiences on April 26, 2026, and the Sora API on September 24, 2026.

Keep comparing

Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("runway ai vs sora" appears in Google's suggestions; about 10 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.